The Australian Music Prize finalists for 2019 have been revealed

The Australian Music Prize finalists for 2019 have been revealed

Photo by Ellen Virgona

Featuring Amyl & The Sniffers, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and more.

The shortlist for the 15th Australian Music Prize has been revealed, whittling its 107 nominees to just nine finalists.

Each year, the Australian Music Prize looks to showcase the diverse talent coming from our music scene by selecting the best albums of that year. Recognising talent over mainstream success, the AMP helps to shine a light on albums and acts not receiving the recognition they deserve.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $30,000, as well as the globally-recognised, prestigious title of AMP winner.

Since its inaugural year in 2005, the AMP has awarded almost half a million dollars to its winners, including the likes of Sampa The Great, A.B. Original, Courtney Barnett, Eddy Current Suppression Ring, and The Drones.

This year’s finalists, as always, include a genre-spanning spread, from Julia Jacklin’s gut-wrenching break-up anthology Crushing to Sampa The Great’s bold, Southern-African influenced hip hop masterpiece The Return. 

The winner will be decided by a judging panel of esteemed industry figures who will come together for a day of discussion and debate.

See the Australian Music Prize finalists for 2019 below: 

Ainslie Wills – All You Have Is All You Need

Amyl & The Sniffers – Amyl & The Sniffers

Dispossessed – Warpath Never Ended

Julia Jacklin – Crushing 

Methyl Ehtel – Triage 

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen 

Sampa The Great – The Return

Sleep D – Rebel Force

Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

The winner of the 2019 Australian Music Prize will be revealed in March. For more information, visit the AMP website