This year’s Japanese Film Festival combines murder, music and mystery
15.10.2019

This year’s Japanese Film Festival combines murder, music and mystery

JK Rock
JK Rock

Even if you don’t speak the language, there’s something for everyone.

The star-studded Japanese Film Festival is right around the corner, with jam-packed events taking place in most capital cities across the country.

This year’s festival comes complete with 28 feature films and one insightful documentary. Kicking off the proceedings is glitzy murder mystery Masquerade Hotel, the story of a detective who goes undercover at a fancy Tokyo high school to solve a series of crimes. The Melbourne and Sydney events will close with a screening of psychological crime-drama A Girl Missing, while musical-comedy Dance With Me will be the final screening in Canberra, Perth and Brisbane.

“This year’s program brings new perspectives in Japanese film, reviving the old and giving lesser-known stories a chance in the spotlight,” said festival programmer Simonne Goran.

The program combines films from a variety of creators, including up-and-coming Japanese filmmakers, adaptors of beloved manga stories to international award-winners. What’s more, Adelaide film fanatics will get special access to a select free program in early November.

Japanese Film Festival 2019 Trailer

See a new perspective at #JFFAU2019 – Full program out now! From colourful fantasies to dark realities, there's something for everyone at this year's JFF. Browse the full program at http://bit.ly/2MSQf2Y

Posted by Japanese Film Festival – Australia on Wednesday, 11 September 2019

Check out the Japanese Film Festival’s program dates below:

Wednesday October 16 — Sunday October 20 in Canberra ACT

Wednesday October 23 — Sunday October 27 in Brisbane QLD

Wednesday October 30 — Sunday November 3 in Perth WA

Friday November 8 — Sunday November 10 in Adelaide SA

Thursday November 14 — Sunday November 24 in Sydney NSW

Thursday November 21 — Sunday December 1 in Melbourne VIC

Tickets for the Japanese Film Festival are on sale now via the festival website.

Never miss a story. Sign up to Beat’s newsletter and you’ll be served fresh music, arts, food and culture stories three times a week.