Punk & Hardcore

With Joe Hansen

Punk-rockers Against Me have announced a national tour this May. In addition to appearances at Groovin the Moo, which will be held in Bendigo this year, the band will play Max Watt’s on Friday May 5 with national support from local favourites Camp Cope. Tickets are on sale now. Against Me continues to tour in support of 2016’s Shape Shift With Me.
Long-running punk rock cover band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes have announced the upcoming release of a best-of compilation record. From Fat Wreck Chords: “Who’s ready to have yet another ball or two? Not only are we announcing a new Me First and the Gimme Gimmes release, but a world tour to boot. After seven studio albums, a live record, and too many singles to count, the Gimmes have finally compiled their very favorite songs onto one record. Out Friday April 7, Rake It In: The Greatestest Hits, will be your one-stop shop for Gimmes greatnessness”
Canandian hardcore punk innovators Fucked Up have announced the eighth instalment in their Zodiac series. Due out next month via Tankcrimes, Year of the Snake will follow up 2015’s Year of the Hare. With the A-side comprising of a single 24-minute title track, the B-side will feature a new shorter track Passacaglia. CD and LP pre-orders will also come with an additional bonus track on either CD or 12” flexi disc of a remixed version of the title track, courtesy of techno noise project Container. Pre-orders are available now from Tankcrimes.
Metallic hardcore lords Power Trip have released a teaser title track from their upcoming sophomore album Nightmare Logic. Carrying on from the raw old-school death/thrash metal influenced sound of their debut album, the preview track is a great sonic middle ground between contemporary hardcore and old-school extreme metal. Nightmare Logic is to be released Friday February 24 on Southern Lord.
Canadian punk/alt-rockers The Dirty Nil have announced the release of a compilation album of previously released singles and EPs. Entitled Minimum R&B, the record will comprise tracks from the previously released but now out of print Smite 10", the Cinnamon single, 2012's Little Metal Baby Fist and 2011's Fuckin' Up Young. The Dirty Nil recently toured Australia for the first time supporting fellow Canadians Alexisonfire.
Metallic orgcore punks Heartsounds have announced the release of their upcoming fourth full length album. From the band: “OK, so here's the deal. We enter the studio next week to actually record our fourth record. All the teasers/video clips we've been posting have been us getting ready to get into the studio. It should be finished by early March, and we will be able to release this to y'all in April. We're stoked, hope you are too.” The as yet untitled album will follow up 2013’s self-released Internal Eyes.