Punk & Hardcore

With Joe Hansen

Melbourne melodic punks Laura Palmer have announced the release of their upcoming sophomore EP. All The Way, the self-released EP, is currently available for pre-order and streaming on the band’s Bandcamp page. The record is due for release on Saturday December 10, coinciding with the band’s appearance at Neighbourhood Pizza Party show at The Old Bar.
The Business frontman Micky Fitz has passed away after a battle with cancer. The long-running English punk band were pioneers of the early street punk sound, influencing many contemporary bands such as Dropkick Murphys, Rancid and Street Dogs. The band released the seminal Smash the Discos single in 1982 and followed up with their landmark album Suburban Rebels in 1983.
Toronto hardcore lords Career Suicide have announced the release of an upcoming 7”. Featuring lead single Machine Response, taken from their upcoming full length album, the 7” also features a cover of Newcastle punk originators Meccalissa’s 1979 single Kill the Warden. The 7” is out now.
Canadian ska punks The Flatliners have announced the release of an as yet unnamed upcoming record. Due out in early 2017, the record will be their first on new label Rise Records, having amicably ended their relationship with Fat Wreck Chords.
Metallic hardcore innovators Integrity have announced the re-release of their 1997 album Seasons in the Size of Days. Receiving the full remastered and repackaged treatment, the record will follow up the recent remaster and rerelease of the band’s 1995 breakthrough album Humanity is the Devil. Seasons in the Size of Days will be rereleased on Friday January 20.
Melbourne metallic hardcore legends Mindsnare have released a new single taken from their upcoming yet to be titled album. Gateway to Madness is their first release since the band’s 2011 split 7” with Ringworm. The band’s new album will be their first since 2007’s Disturb the Hive.
Melbourne favourites Camp Cope have announced the upcoming release of a split 7” with recent tour mates Philadelphia’s Cayetana. Featuring two new songs from each band, the 7” is due for release on Friday January 20.