h

NGV's new Friday Night lineup is a dynamic fusion of old and new

NGV's summer program is going back to Bach.

The National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) has revealed its iconic Friday Nights lineup, bringing together the latest Aussie stylings and music from years (or, rather, centuries) gone by.

Unlike previous lineups of NGV Friday Nights, the gallery has opted for a more electronic DJ-set focus, with musicians set to perform a massive bunch of gigs under the summer sun.

Headlining NGV Friday Nights this summer is singer-songwriter and producer Andy Bull, showstopping Melbourne duo Confidence Man and indie pop sensation Nicole Millar. The incredible Aussie musicians will be accompanied by sets from NGV's monthly resident DJs, who include Eilish Gilligan, Wax'o Paradiso and Pjenne.

In addition to the massive array of performances, NGV is taking a step back to the Baroque era and drawing on the legacy of Johann Sebastian Bach for its visual and musical curations. The works of Bach are what have loosely inspired the work of Dutch artist M.C. Escher, who produced tesselating artworks that paid homage to the Baroque composer's love for repetition. Escher's works go hand in hand with the immersive music installation produced by creative collaboration anon., which will feature contemporary interpretations of Bach's huge canon of classical work.

Friday Night attendees will have exclusive, late night access to Escher's body of work and the gorgeous NGV garden. The Friday Nights series is quick to sell out each year, and with every Friday Night sesh providing a showcase as spectacular as this, it wouldn't be wise to wait.

December Friday Nights resident Albrecht La-Brooy, plus:
Friday 7 December – Andy Bull (DJ Set)
Friday 14 December – Hoodlem (DJ Set)
Friday 21 December – Fantastic Man (DJ Set)
Friday 28 December – Nicole Millar (DJ Set)

January Friday Nights resident Eilish Gilligan (DJ Set), plus:
Friday 4 January – Andy Hart
Friday 11 January – KLP (DJ Set)
Friday 18 January – Film School Collective
Friday 25 January – Zuri Akoko

February Friday Nights resident, Pjenné, plus:
Friday 1 February – Chela (DJ Set)
Friday 8 February – Harvey Sutherland (DJ Set)
Friday 15 February – Alice Ivy (DJ Set)
Friday 22 February – OJ KUSH

March Friday Nights resident, Indian Summer, plus:
Friday 1 March – Gold Fields (DJ Set)
Friday 8 March – Dappled Cities (DJ Set)
Friday 15 March – Jonti (DJ Set), (Melbourne Art Book Fair X Design Week Edition)
Friday 22 March – Japanese Wallpaper (DJ Set)
Friday 29 March – Woodes (DJ Set)

April Friday Nights resident, Wax’o Paradiso, plus:
Friday 5 April – Confidence Man (DJ Set)
Saturday 6 April – San Cisco (DJ Set)

NGV Friday Nights is running between Friday December and Saturday April 6. Tickets are available at the NGV website.