Die! Die! Die! : Harmony

With each album Dunedin trio Die! Die! Die! release, they prove themselves to be the complete opposite to a one-trick pony – each album striving forward, displaying an evolution and maturity in the band’s composing abilities, all the while maintaining the raw aggression they became known for way back in 2005. Now with album number four Harmony on the loose, they have once again taken a giant stride forward, without completely losing the past.


Erase Waves is confronting; the guitar sharp, piercing its way through while frontman Andrew Wilson doesn’t just seem to spit out his words but sends them out like barbed projectiles. In a similar vein to Sideways Here I Come sandwiched between two relentless punk songs on their 2008 album Promises Promises, contrasting greatly to it pre and successors, Seasons Revenge is the closest to a croon Wilson has ever been. Michael Prain’s rolling drum rhythms are matched with the distorted and lamenting guitar, making for a song that is aesthetically romantic.


Harmony continues to fluctuate with No One Owns A View, and Wilson returns to his spiteful delivery of words and harsh guitar. 16 Shades Of Blue begins with waves of light sound, a little white noise breathing in and out before being abruptly woken from a dream by Wilson’s voice, angry guitar and Prain’s hasty drums all at once, all making for an antagonistic yet completely memorable pop song.


What Die! Die! Die! have successfully managed to create is an abrasive and unforgiving punk album that also effortlessly oozes a pop sensibility. Harmony is a collection of ten brash punk songs that you can sing along to, that can get stuck in your head, and their ability to recreate their brazen live energy is enough to keep you nervous for more.




Best Track: Seasons Revenge

If You Like These, You’ll Like This: Pulled Over...Your Eyes Are Telling Me Different Son KUT U UP, Young Machete BLOOD BROTHERS

In A Word: Captivating