National Folk Festival drops first 2019 lineup announcement

The sneak peek has left us wanting more.

The iconic National Folk Festival has started to trickle details of what's to come in its 2019 lineup.

The nation’s capital has hosted the National Folk Festival for a staggering 53 years, offering a rootsy five-day getaway packed with 750 shows across 20 venues, a kids festival, themed bars, food and market stalls.

The festival’s first announcement for 2019 has a diverse focus, spanning Australian favourites Freya Josephine Hollick, Luke Plumb, Kate Burke and acclaimed Indigenous Australian songwriter Glenn Skuthorpe in collaboration with Canadian First Nations artists. Several international folksters will also join, including Irish Mythen, Nancy Kerr with James Fagan, and more. 

Check out the first lineup announcement below:

  • Ballpoint Penguins
  • Black Mountain String Band
  • Brothers On Fire
  • Candice Mcleod
  • Darol Anger And The Republic Of Strings 
  • East Row Rabble 
  • Freya Josephine Hollick 
  • Green Mohair Suits 
  • Guyy & The Fox
  • Irish Joe Lynch 
  • Irish Mythen 
  • Jimmy Bay 
  • Ken Yates 
  • Lucy Wise 
  • Luke Plumb & Kate Burke
  • Manran
  • Nancy Kerr & James Fagan
  • Penny Davies & Roger Ilott 
  • Praashekh Quartet
  • Riccardo Tesi & Banditaliana 
  • Roguery And Brooke Friendly 
  • The Dorsal Finns
  • The Exciting McGillicuddies 
  • The Homelands Tour Ft Glenn Skuthorpe 
  • The Marios Papadeas Ensemble 
  • The Vegetable Plot 
  • Tiffany Eckhardt 

The National Folk Festival hits Canberra’s Exhibition Park over the Easter long weekend, Thursday April 18 until Monday April 22, 2019. Tickets are available via folkfestival.org.