Melbourne International Comedy Festival reveals 2019 award nominations

Who'll come out on top?

The 2019 Melbourne International Comedy Festival is entering its final week, and the nominees for three prestigious award categories have been revealed. 

The comedians up for the top MICF Award (formerly known as the Barry Award) are Anne Edmonds, Cassie Workman, Geraldine Hickey, James Acaster, Nath Valvo and Tom Allen. Newbies to the comedy scene won't go unnoticed either, with Blake Freeman, Dan Rath, Nina Oyama and Oliver Coleman all in the running for the festival's Best Newcomer Award.

Winners of the People's Choice, Directors' Choice, Piece of Wood and Funny Tonne awards will be announced on the day. This year, the Pinder Prize is going towards supporting comedians Sam Taunton and Steph Tisdell in making their debut at Edinburgh Fringe. The full list of award winners will be announced on Saturday April 20.

Check out the full list of nominations below:

Nominees for the 2019 Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award:
Anne Edmonds — What’s Wrong With You?
Cassie Workman — Giantess
Geraldine Hickey — Things Are Going Well
James Acaster — Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999
Nath Valvo — I’m Happy For You
Tom Allen — Absolutely

Nominees for the 2019 Best Newcomer Award:
Blake Freeman — There's Something There
Dan Rath — Bubble Bath
Nina Oyama — Needs a Lift
Oliver Coleman — Poolside

Nominees for the 2019 Golden Gibbo:
Game Boys — Game Boys Cinematic Universe
Lauren Bok — Rock Out With Your Bok Out
Margot Tanjutco — Vanity Fair Enough
Neal Portenza & Joshua Ladgrove — Neal Portenza is Joshua Ladgrove
Oliver Coleman — Poolside
Patrick Collins — Mime Consultant

To catch a show at the last week of Melbourne International Comedy Festival, head to the festival website.