h
Music News

Alt-J and Warpaint to tour Australia in 2017

Catch Alt-J and Warpaint when they hit Sidney Myer Music Bowl on Thursday December 7. Tickets via Frontier Touring. 

Spiritualized, Pussy Riot Theatre and more lead Supersense 2017 program

Don't miss Supersense 2017 when it hits Arts Centre Melbourne from Friday August 18 - Sunday August 20. For more information and tickets, head to the Arts Centre Melbourne website.

Thy Art Is Murder head out on 2017 Australian tour

Thy Art Is Murder hit Max Watts on Saturday July 29, tickets available here.

Hoodoo Gurus, You Am I, Jebediah and Adalita join forces for Fist Full of Rock

Make sure you catch Fist Full Of Rock at the Forum Theatre on Saturday August 26. Presale tickets are available for Frontier Members & Forum Subscribers from Thursday May 25 at 12pm AEST & Ticketing / Venue presale from Friday May 26 at 12pm AEST via Ticketmaster. General public on sale from Monday 29 May at 10am AEST.

Ocean Grove announce 2017 Australian tour

Ocean Grove will be playing at The Corner Hotel Saturday August 12, grab your tickets here. 

The Getaway Plan sell out Melbourne show in a hot minute, add second date

Catch The Getaway Plan at Corner Hotel on Sunday September 10, but be warned - tickets are selling fast. Tickets available via Eventbrite.

Triple R and Cherry Bar join forces for Big Riff City mini-festival

Big Riff City goes down on Sunday June 11 - Queen’s Birthday Eve - at Cherry Bar, from 2pm. Tickets are available from the Cherry Bar website.

Acclaimed Amy Winehouse tribute show leads 2017 Thornbury Theatre Winter Program

Catch The Amy Winehouse Story: Back In Black at the Thornbury Theatre on Friday June 2. Tickets available from Oztix. For more information about Back In Black, or any of the Thornbury Theatre's upcoming programs, head to their website.

Brightness unveils a debut album launch show and new single

Catch Brightness when he hits Yah Yah's on Friday July 7. Tickets available via Eventbrite.

Josh Pyke announces album, single and national tour

Best Of, B-Sides & Rarities is out Friday June 30. Josh Pyke performs at the Corner Hotel on Friday August 4 and at Geelong's Wool Exchange on Saturday August 5. Tickets via the Corner and Oztix respectively.

Video Premiere: Keggin return with 'Indiana Jones and the Temple of Goon'

Keggin hit Ding Dong Lounge on Saturday May 27. Tickets available here

This brand new festival is Victoria's answer to Dark Mofo

It goes down across four installments from Thursday July 1 to Tuesday August 13. Details via Winter Wild.  

Dead of Winter Festival just added 27 acts to their 2017 lineup

Don't miss Dead Of Winter Festival when it his Jubilee Hotel in Fortitude Valley on Saturday July 29. Tickets available via Oztix.

Soul sensation Tami Neilson announces 2017 Melbourne show

She'll hit Ding Dong on Saturday August 19. 

Placebo are bringing their 20th anniversary tour to Melbourne

They'll hit Margaret Court Arena on Friday September 8. Tickets via Ticketek. 

PSOs will gain the power to search for drugs and make arrests

What do you reckon? Let us know in the comments. 

Celebrate the life of Elvis Presley on his 40th anniversary

Elvis: The 40th Anniversary Spectacular will be held at Thornbury Theatre on Saturday August 12. Tickets via Oztix. 

Crooked Colours announce 2017 national tour

Vera is released Friday June 23. See Crooked Colours perform at the Corner Hotel on Saturday August 5. Tickets via the band's website.

Want to be a part of Melbourne Music Week 2017? Here's how

Applications are open now until Friday June 9. Melbourne Music Week returns from November 17 - November 25. 

Bella Union to close after Victorian Trades Hall Council rejects lease extension

Stay tuned for details of a closing party that'll send Bella Union out in style. 

Mesa Cosa just locked in a free gig with free beer in Collingwood

Catch ‘em roar into Woody’s Bar on Friday June 2.

10 points on why Melbourne is our live music capital – and how it will be greater

For more industry news visit Christie Eliezer's Industrial Strength column

A strictly female BYO Vinyl Night is going down in Melbourne

All you need is the wax when The B.East’s Girls Vinyl Night goes down on Thursday June 15.

The music showcase bringing Melbourne's non DJ electronic community to the fore

It's free and it's all happening at Tago Mago on Saturday June 3. Check out our interview with Thom O’Leary here.

Pop songster MAX unveils 2017 Melbourne show

MAX bounces into the Evelyn on Saturday September 10. Tickets via Select Touring.

I don't want to alarm you, but a plague of mice is taking over Melbourne

There you have it. Melbourne belongs to the mice now. Maybe we always had it coming. At least there's still live music every day of the week. 

Jon Stevens announces ‘Starlight’ national album tour

Jon Stevens performs at The Palms at Crown on Saturday July 15. Tickets via Frontier Touring.

Aussie punk legends The Meanies announce 2017 national tour

They'll take over the Gasometer on Friday June 30 and Saturday July 1. Tickets via Oztix. 

The Snowdroppers call it a day, announce their last ever shows

They'll hit the Northcote Social Club on Saturday October 28. 

Bernard Fanning announces 2017 Australian tour

Bernard Fanning will hit The Croxton on Thursday October 26 and Friday October 27.