h
Arts News

Projections, arts and immersive experiences: Get ready for Melbourne's after-dark festival

Nite Art 2017: Own the Nite will take place in various locations across Melbourne on Thursday July 27 from 6pm until late. Visit Nite Art's website for more information. 

Some of the funniest names in US comedy are heading to Melbourne

See the 18+ Star-Spangled Stand-Up at the Melbourne Comic's Lounge from Thursday June 15 to Saturday June 17. Tickets via the Comic's Lounge.

The Finders Keepers Market is celebrating its 10th anniversary

Visit Finders Keepers at the Royal Exhibition Building from Friday July 14 to Sunday July 16. Entry is $2 for adults. Check out the full designer list here.

Victoria's independent arts sector just scored over $1 million in funding

All in all, it's a solid win for the arts community. 

The Aquarium is opening after dark for a night of unlimited booze and beats

SEA LIFE's special edition of Aquarium After Dark will take place at Melbourne Aquarium on Friday June 9 from 6pm - 9pm. Tickets via Melbourne Aquarium.

Melbourne International Animation Festival unveils extensive 2017 program

The Melbourne International Animation Festival comes to ACMI from Sunday June 18 until Sunday June 25. Grab your tickets via the festival website. 

St Kilda Film Festival announce Top 100 Winners for 2017

For a full list of the 17 winners, visit the St Kilda Film Festival website. 

Trains set to carry 2,000 passengers will roll out in Melbourne

For more information on the High Capacity Metro Trains, visit the official project page.

The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival releases 2017 program

The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival will run from Sunday July 9 to Sunday July 16. For the full 2017 schedule, visit the MDFF website.

Cirque du Soleil return with 'Avatar' inspired Melbourne show

It runs at Rod Laver Arena from Thursday November 2 - Sunday November 5, and Friday November 10 - Sunday November 12. Tickets via Ticketek. 

Love Live Music 60 Second Film Competition winner announced

Visit AMIN's website to watch entries from the competition's runner-up and five other finalists.

Winners revealed for SoundKILDA 2017

Read out feature with Client Liaison talking about this year's SoundKILDA here. 

Spiritualized, Pussy Riot Theatre and more lead Supersense 2017 program

Don't miss Supersense 2017 when it hits Arts Centre Melbourne from Friday August 18 - Sunday August 20. For more information and tickets, head to the Arts Centre Melbourne website.

Acclaimed Amy Winehouse tribute show leads 2017 Thornbury Theatre Winter Program

Catch The Amy Winehouse Story: Back In Black at the Thornbury Theatre on Friday June 2. Tickets available from Oztix. For more information about Back In Black, or any of the Thornbury Theatre's upcoming programs, head to their website.

George Orwell's '1984' captures anxiety and confusion in a Big Brother world

1984 comes to The Comedy Theatre from Friday June 2 to Saturday June 10 with previews on Wednesday May 31 and Thursday June 1.

Cabaret royalty Bridget Everett and Murray Hill team up for Melbourne show

Don't miss this international double-headliner at the Yarraville Club on Wednesday June 7. Tickets via Yarraville Laughs.

La Mama Theatre is turning 50 and celebrating with a festival of theatre

La Mama's 50th birthday Mini-Fest will run from Monday July 10 to Sunday August 13. Their 50th birthday party and book launch will be at La Mama Theatre on Saturday August 12. Tickets for both events are via La Mama Theatre.

The music of Zelda to be performed live in Melbourne show

The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses will be performed live at Hamer Hall on Sunday September 3. Tickets on sale via Ticketmaster from Monday May 29.

S-Town’s Brian Reed to chat murders, mysteries and mazes in 2017 Melbourne show

Brian Reed comes to the Athenaeum Theatre on Wednesday July 26. Prep yourself by listening to S-Town here.

Jerry Seinfeld announces final Melbourne show

His final show will go down on Monday August 7 at Hisense Arena. This is the final show that will be added to Seinfeld’s tour. Tickets via Ticketek.  

Live music photography installation to cover AC/DC lane

Catch it from Friday May 19 - Sunday May 28 at AC/DC Lane, out the front of Cherry Bar. 

An ice skating rink is coming to Federation Square for winter

The Fed Square River Rink will open from Saturday July 1 to Sunday July 23 from 10am - 10pm. Prices start at $15 with tickets available online from Saturday June 3 or from the Box Office on the day. For more information, visit the event page.

Vinyl sales, vintage fashion and vegan produce combine for new Melbourne market

Footscray Finds comes to the Footscray Library Car Park every third Sunday from 8am to 1pm. For more info and to apply for your own stall, head here.

Greek-inspired play ‘Poetic License’ returns with 2017 Melbourne season

Outer Urban Projects present Poetic License at fortyfivedownstairs from Tuesday June 20 until Saturday June 24. For tickets and session times head to the venue website.

This Melbourne exhibition takes place in complete darkness

Dialogue in the Dark opens at Docklands on Friday June 2. Tickets via Ticketmaster. 

The new theatre production developed for children with complex disabilities

Down to Earth comes to Arts Centre Melbourne on Saturday June 10 and Sunday June 11. 

A unique first dedicated LGBTI+ mental health centre to open in Melbourne

The Mind Equality Centre will be open at Northside Clinic from Tuesday May 23. For more information about Mind Australia, head to their website.

Thando to star in musical celebrating David Bowie and Freddie Mercury

You can catch Bowie and Mercury Rising from July 26-30 at Chapel off Chapel. Tickets here.

A National Geographic animal photography exhibition is coming to Melbourne

Catch it at Leopard Lodge, Melbourne Zoo from July 1 - October 1. You can purchase tickets here.