h
Arts Features

Holly Throsby

HOLLY THROSBY will appear in conversation at The Wheeler Centre for a free event to chat all things Goodwood on Thursday  October 6. 

Lady Eats Apple

LADY EATS APPLE will run from Saturday October 8 to Thursday October 13 at the Arts Centre as part of Melbourne Festival.

Thank You For Coming: Attendance

THANK YOU FOR COMING: ATTENDANCE will run from Friday October 7 to Monday October 10 at Arts House as part of Melbourne Festival.

The Secret Noise

THE SECRET NOISE will run on Friday October 14 and Saturday October 15 at Arts House as part of Melbourne Festival.

Triptyque

TRIPTYQUE will run at the Arts Centre from Thursday October 6 to Sunday October 9 as part of Melbourne Festival 2016. 

War and Peace

WAR AND PEACE will run from Tuesday October 18 to Sunday October 23 at The Coopers Malthouse as part of Melbourne Festival. 

Beat's Guide to Melbourne Festival 2016

MELBOURNE FESTIVAL runs from Thursday October 6 - Sunday October 23.

The Polished Man

Find out more about The Polished Man, and how you can get involved, by visiting their website.

The Money

THE MONEY will run at Prahran Town Hall from Thursday October 6 to Tuesday October 11, Footscray Town Hall from Thursday October 13 to Sunday October 16 and at Parliament of Victoria, Legislative Assembly Chamber from Wednesday October 19 to Sunday October 23. Tickets are available via Melbourne Festival. 

Backstage In Biscuit Land

BACKSTAGE IN BISCUIT LAND will run at The Coopers Malthouse from Wednesday October 12 - Sunday October 16 as part of the 2016 Melbourne Festival. 

The Other Film Festival

THE OTHER FILM FESTIVAL runs from Wednesday September 28 - Friday September 30 at the State Library as part of Melbourne Fringe Festival. 

Beat's Picks: The 2016 Melbourne Festival Arts Program

THE 2016 MELBOURNE FESTIVAL runs from Thursday October 6 to Sunday October 23. Tickets to all shows are on sale now. 

Revenge Of The Gweilo

REVENGE OF THE GWEILO will close the Melbourne Underground Film Festival on Saturday September 17 at the Alex Theatre. Tickets through www.muff.com.au.

Henry Rollins

HENRY ROLLINS will bring his An Evening With… talking tour to Arts Centre Melbourne on Monday September 19 and Tuesday September 20.

You Got Older

YOU GOT OLDER runs until Sunday October 2 at Red Stitch Actors Theatre.

Malthouse Theatre’s 2017 Season

THE MALTHOUSE THEATRE 2017 season runs from Thursday February 2 - Sunday November 26, 2017. Season Pass subscription packages are on sale now.

The 17th Melbourne Underground Film Festival

THE 17TH MELBOURNE UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL will run from Friday September 9 - Saturday September 17 at the Alex Theatre, St Kilda and Backlot Cinema, Southbank. Tickets via the MUFF website.

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: Nick Cave, Louis Theroux, Tom Hanks and More

If you're a Nick Cave fan - and god help you if you aren't - One More Time With Feeling can't be missed. It's your first glimpse of the album and a truly intimate encounter with a legend of our music scene. While parents take their younguns off to The Secret Life Of Pets, I recommend you check out Girl Asleep for whimsical fun (and Aussie support) and/or My Scientology Movie to have your conspiracy senses tickled yet again.  Until next week!

Pixel

PIXEL runs at Her Majesty's Theatre from Wednesday August 31 to Sunday September 4. Tickets via Ticketek. 

Heart of St Kilda

THE HEART OF ST KILDA CONCERT goes down on Tuesday September 6 at the Palais Theatre. Tickets are on sale now through Ticketmaster.

Michael McIntyre

MICHAEL McINTYRE will perform at Rod Laver Arena on Saturday October 22. Tickets via Ticketek.

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: Blood Is Not Thicker Than Your Screenplay Consultant

I'm happy if you see anything that isn't Blood Father, honestly. Mechanic: Resurrection is also, like most things back from the dead, well worth avoiding. Time to get spooped, kids. Head on down the Eight Mile and check in to Don't Breathe.   Until next week!

Jasper Jones

Jasper Jones runs at Southbank Theatre, The Sumner from August 1 - September 10. Tickets via MTC. 

Beat’s Guide to Melbourne’s Best Barber Shops

Got any hot tips of your own? Let us know in the comments below. 

Beardyman

BEARDYMAN will take to the Corner Hotel on Tuesday September 13. Tickets via Ticketscout.

The Beast

THE BEAST will run at the Comedy Theatre from Thursday August 25 to Sunday September 4.

Korean Film Festival: Best of the Fest

KOREAN FILM FESTIVAL MELBOURNE runs from Thursday September 1 - Thursday September 8 at ACMI.

Down Under

DOWN UNDER will screen at ACMI from Thursday August 18 – Wednesday August 24. 

The Fiery Maze

THE FIERY MAZE runs at the Malthouse Theatre from Thursday August 18 to Sunday September 4.

Indian Film Festival of Melbourne

THE 2016 INDIAN FILM FESTIVAL OF MELBOURNE runs from Thursday August 11 to Sunday August 21 in cinemas and venues throughout the city.