h
Arts Features

Vomit, Trump and going to jail: A chat with Eric Andre

Eric Andre will appear live at The Comic's Lounge on Wednesday December 7 and Thursday December 8. 

Beat's Guide to Melbourne's Best Markets

Did we miss your favourite? Let us know in the comments. 

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: Queen Me

15-year-old me is making pew-pew noises and gawping at Selene, but you, dear reader, are wiser than that lanky teen. Indulge in the great game with Madina Nalwanga in Queen Of Katwe.     Until next week!

Made In Melbourne Film Festival

The Made In Melbourne Film Festival runs from Tuesday December 6 to Sunday December 11 in venues including ACMI, Palace Cinemas, QV Melbourne and Backlot Studios. Head to www.mim.org.au for full program details and bookings. 

Captain Ruin

Captain Ruin will perform at The Pleasure Garden Festival in Catani Gardens, St Kilda on Saturday December 10.

Caliban

Caliban will transform the Malthouse Theatre from Thursday November 24 until Saturday November 26.

The Landscape Project

The Landscape Project runs from Wednesday November 23 - Saturday December 3 at the NICA National Circus Centre. Tickets via www.nica.com.au. 

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: "Political Correctness Gone Mad"

Perhaps this is me admitting to my Japanophilia, but also, shut up. Go see Your Name because it's great. Or take a leap of faith with Vanishing Time, or put your trust in Ang and SUPPORT OUR TROOPS with Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk.  Until next week!

LadyCake

Three Birds Theatre's LadyCake is part of Poppy Seed Festival, performing at Trades Hall until Sunday November 27.

Bill Bailey

Bill Bailey will appear at Hamer Hall from Wednesday November 16 to Sunday November 20 (bar Saturday).

Beat's Guide to the Best Rooftop Bars in Melbourne

Got a favourite of your own? Let us know in the comments. 

Anti-Hamlet

Anti-Hamlet will run at Theatre Works from Thursday November 3 until Sunday November 13.

The Odd Couple

The Odd Couple will run at Southbank Theatre, The Sumner from Saturday November 5 to Saturday December 17. Tickets via mtc.com.au. 

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: Stranger Things

You mustn't be afraid to dream a little bigger, darlings. Bend your mind around Marvel's Doctor Strange, but only if you've not the stomach to sit through Elle.  Until next week!

Kona Kustom Kulture

Kona Kustom Kulture will feature at Kustom Lane Gallery on Friday November 4 and Saturday November 5.

Blessed

Blessed will run at Malthouse Theatre, as part of Poppy Seed Theatre Festival, from Tuesday November 8 until Sunday November 20.

Welcome To Australia

Walk Together will commence at 11am on Saturday October 22, starting at Parliament House on Spring Street and finishing at the State Library.

Vertical Influences

Vertical Influences will transform O’Brien Group Arena, Docklands from Saturday October 15 to Saturday October 22 (excluding Monday October 17) with shows at 6pm and 8pm (Saturday 15 & Sunday 16 at 7.30pm) as part of Melbourne Festival.

Melbourne's five best parks that you should definitely not sink tinnies in

Gotta park of your own that we should know about? Let us know in the comments 

Holly Throsby

HOLLY THROSBY will appear in conversation at The Wheeler Centre for a free event to chat all things Goodwood on Thursday  October 6. 

TL;DR This Week In Cinema: A Trio Of Masters, A Trio Of Busters

Masterminds is apparently disastrous, so this was a no-brainer. It's time to get monstrous with Shin Godzilla.  Until next week!

Ceres Organic Grocery

CERES ORGANIC GROCERY will host the Merri Merri Bush Dance on Saturday October 15, Triple R BBQ on Sunday December 4 and Tamil Feasts hosts vegan friendly dinners every Monday, Tuesday and Friday night. Check out the CERES website for more details.

Wild About Melbourne

WILD ABOUT MELBOURNE MARKETS will come to Thornbury Bowls Club, 27 Ballantyne St, Thornbury on Sunday November 27 from 11-3pm and Reservoir Village, Edwardes St, Reservoir on Saturday December 17 from 10-2pm.

Dandenong Market

DANDENONG MARKET celebrates their 150th Jubilee on Sunday October 16 from 10am through to 4pm. You can find the market on the corner of Clow and Cleeland Street, Dandenong.

The Art of Banksy

THE ART OF BANKSY runs at The Paddock, Federation Square until Saturday January 22. 

Haircuts by Children

HAIRCUTS BY CHILDREN will run on Saturday October 15 & 16 at Razor Dolls, Windsor, and Saturday October 22 & Sunday October 23 at Fur Hairdressing, Melbourne. 

Buried Country

BURIED COUNTRY is playing as part of the Melbourne Festival at Melbourne Recital Centre on Wednesday October 12 and Thursday October 13. Leah Flanagan plays at the Bella Union on Friday November 4.

Ancient Rain

ANCIENT RAIN featuring Camille O’Sullivan, Paul Kelly and Feargal Murray will take place at Arts Centre Melbourne from Wednesday October 12 until Saturday October 15 as part of Melbourne Festival.

David Bowie: Nothing Has Changed

DAVID BOWIE: NOTHING HAS CHANGED will take over Hamer Hall from Saturday October 15 until Monday October 17 as part of Melbourne Festival.